Please Don’t Chip the Skylane

A good friend recently had his 182 painted. What was a mechanically first-class airplane is now a drop-dead-gorgeous first-class airplane.

However, I think he has a problem…

Exhibit A – Note his left horizontal stabilizer, especially the face of the balance tab (the lighting is terrible, I know):

Not a scratch or ping. Clearly, his 182 has not seen dirt, gravel, or turf since the paint work. If it had, it really wouldn’t look like this (trust me, it didn’t before).

Will it still be this way at the end of the summer? Tune in next time…

4 Responses to “Please Don’t Chip the Skylane”


  1. 1 JohnG March 12, 2010 at 1:16 am

    I suspect the first ding will come before July 4th. If I had to narrow it down, I’d pick June 30th.

    Nice blog, Steve! Love the glacier pic. I was just editing some of my glacier flying video the other day. Might put it on YouTube.

    • 2 airphoria March 12, 2010 at 8:16 am

      Thanks!

      I’ll bet you’re real close. I’ll also bet you’re gonna be there when it happens. Maybe having a conciliatory tequila shot handy (for after the airplanes are tied down for the day) might be good preparation…

  2. 3 Mark Peters March 12, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    I know who owns this plane and the pilot beats the sheet out of it. He lands like crap and manages to seek out runway FOD. What he misses with the prop, he nails with the wheels and sends it into the stab. If I know his luck, that stab and elevator will be chipped and trashed long before June. He beat the crap out of his previous plane, but found someone to buy it anyway.

  3. 4 BradB March 16, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Yes, I know that guy too. As a minimum there will be tree branches stuck in the wheel pants (as called by the tower), so the actual first infraction location may not be the stab.

    If we are not counting the dings and scratches on his wallet, then I would place a few bills on the last day of March.

    If the pool size gets big enough….. where does this guy park?


Leave a Reply

